The Pocket Lint Rule Not sure how to delete your Snapchat account? It’s not hard at all to uninstall Snap, so let me show you how it’s done so you can move on with your day. Furthermore, we explore the reasons for and effects of deleting your Snapchat account, as well as the data retention policies of the service.
How to delete your Snapchat account
Here’s the lowdown on closing your Snapchat account.
Snapchat’s mobile software for the iPhone includes a Settings menu where you can cancel your account.
- Release Snapchat on your iOS device.
- From the Profile screen, select the gear icon to access the settings menu.
- Click the link labeled “Account Actions”
- Select “Delete Account.”
- To cancel your account, just stick to the on-screen instructions.
Snapchat’s website is the only place you can permanently cancel your account if you use the app on an Android smartphone.
- Go to the Snapchats accounts portal page.
- Type in the username and password to the account you want to delete.
- Follow the on-screen steps to delete your account.
What do you need to delete your Snapchat?
You’ll need a smartphone or tablet running the Snapchat mobile app, or access to a computer where you can go to Snapchat’s accounts portal on the web. You’ll also need a Snapchat account to delete.
Why would you want to delete Snapchat?
That’s totally up to you. Maybe you’re not satisfied with the service. Perhaps you want to remove a minor from the system and so wish to erase their account.
What happens when you delete your Snapchat?
Your account will be deactivated for the first 30 days. While your account is disabled, your friends will not be able to contact or connect with you on Snapchat. After an additional 30 days, your account will be permanently deactivated.
Does Snapchat keep any of your data?
When you deactivate your Snapchat account, all of your information from Snapchat’s main user database, including your settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data, and location data, will be erased. Snap “may preserve some personal data for specific legal, security, and business requirements,” the company added. If you’ve ever made a transaction on Snapchat, for instance, that data will be saved. You accepted this, and you can read the details here. The Snapchat service agreement is available on this page.
Want to know more?
See Pocket-comprehensive lint’s guide for more information on Snapchat, including how it operates and helpful hints. Snap also provides comprehensive instructions for closing your account on this page of their help center.